15.07.18 – 30.09.18

Scene Unseen

Van Eyck alumni Imran Channa, Daan Gielis, Keetje Mans, Hyesoo Park, Jessica Segall, Chaim van Luit, Sharon Van Overmeiren and Guido Yannitto participate in the show SCENE-UNSEEN that will be open from 15 July - 30 September in the castle and former lunatic asylum of Oud Rekem (B).

Why is Marina Abramovic a world renowned star, and yet no-one knows the unique and talented Alex Elshocht? Has marketing become God in the visual arts of today? Paris, New York, Berlin, Shanghai. It is all about being at the right place at the right moment. Is there life outside the global art scene? 
For their ninth exhibition at Castle Oud-Rekem curators Annemie van Laethem, Erik Croux together with Mat Verberkt selected some forty artists from different generations, places and times. SCENE-UNSEEN showcases the works of art students, ‘forgotten’ artists and upcoming talents without any respect for status or rank. Visit SCENE-UNSEEN, wander through the dilapidated castle and be surprised!

Castle Oud-Rekem, 
Address: Groenplaats 1, 3621 Rekem-Lanaken, Belgium
Date: 15 July - 30 September
Time: Friday, Saturday and Sunday | 11u-18u 
Entrance: €7
More info here

Marina Abramovic & Ulay (RS) | Guy Bleus (BE) | Sander Breure (NL) | & Witte Van Hulzen (NL) | Imran Channa (PK) | Ben d’Armagnac (NL) | Debora De Haes (BE) | Bas de Wit (NL) | Yvonne Dröge Wendel (NL) | Alex Elshocht (BE) | Herve Fischer (F) | Indriķis Ģelzis (LV) | Daan Gielis (BE) | Ado Hamelryck (BE) | Isabelle Heske (DE) | Hetty Huisman (NL) | Pepa Inanova (BG) | Jos Jans (BE) | Servie Janssen (NL) | Kaspar König (NL) | Anouk Kruithof (NL) | Chantal Le Doux (NL) | Rebekka Löffler (DE) | Ariane Loze (BE) | Basir Mahmood (PK) | Keetje Mans (NL) | Marie-Jose Martens (BE) | Oleg Matrokhin (RU) | Marek Adam Olszynski (PL) | Hyesoo Park (KR) | Sef Peeters (NL) | Charlotte Schleiffert (NL) | Lydia Schouten (NL) | Stefan Seelge (DE) | Jessica Segall (NY) | Slammer! (BE) | Paul Sochacki (BE) | Toon Tersas (BE) | Greet Van Autgaerden (BE) | Chaim van Luit (NL) | Sharon Van Overmeiren (BE) | Wim Wauman (BE) | Guido Yannitto (AR)


Van Eyck Academie

I hereby subscribe to the Van Eyck newsletter